14

Buckethead the Trailer

This is the live action trailer for the comic book you're subscribed to.
14

This is the space where I share content for the comic book known as Buckethead, about a guy who gets a bucket on his head and decides to become a superhero. Instead of doing things like saving the world from ending, he goes around rescuing cats from trees and helping old ladies across the street. For each issue, for instance when he rescues a cat from a tree, we raise money for a charity like Toronto Cat Rescue.

Issue 0 is the origin story and we're raising money for ThriveGulu, they help people in Uganda start new businesses. Issue 1 is the one where he rescues a cat from a tree.

Now I know what you're asking, why is the Substack called I Am The Bucket if the comic book is called Buckethead?

The short version of the story is that there's already a real guitarist who goes by the name Buckethead and wears a KFC bucket while playing on stage. So the character calls himself The Bucket, but many of the characters who meet him think his name is Buckethead.

How long have I been working on this?

A long time. I came up with the idea for this character in 2009 and have been trying to bring it to life in several ways. It started as a web series for which I wrote 12 episodes to try and get it produced as a live action series. I even produced a live action trailer for the series which I will be sharing here eventually, which you can watch above. Over time, I connected with an illustrator who agreed to help me turn it into a comic book. He prefers to go by the name Arcumus Prime.

We've been working on it for several years at this point and have the first two issues, Issue 0 and Issue 1, available for purchase on both Amazon and Lulu. There's a 10 page free version of Issue 0 on Lulu if you want to check it out. The full version of both issues are 25 pages minimum.

How will this Substack work?

For free subscribers, once a month I will be posting a black and white version of a page from what we already have created. They will also add some context to the preview page. I might also post the occasional colour page without text as well. Eventually, I will preview pages from future issues as well.

I’m also working on what’s currently called “The Origin of the Story”, telling the story of how I came up with the idea of Buckethead and why it’s important to me.

What will paid subscribers get?

Along with the regular free content, you will receive full colour previews of pages with text and dialogue. They will also receive a complete version of the 25 page comic when they get completed before anyone else. In addition, you can get access to scripts, both the original web series version and the comic book version, and behind the scenes photos from the production of the trailer. Other things are coming but it's too early to say.

Where else can you check out the comic?

Well, here obviously, but also on Lulu and Amazon.

Thank you for reading I Am The Bucket. This post is public so feel free to share it.

Share

I Am The Bucket is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

14 Comments
I Am The Bucket
I Am The Bucket
Authors
Andrew Heard